Shadow High Costume Ball Demi Batista

With Halloween right around the corner, I thought now would be the perfect time to add Shadow High Costume Ball Demi Batista to my ever-growing Rainbow High Collection. The Costume Ball collection consists of six dolls, three from Rainbow High and three from Shadow High. They are Walmart exclusives. The Costume Ball is a sub-plot of the Rainbow Vision plot that has been driving Season Three of the Rainbow High webisodes on YouTube. Demi came with an invitation to the Costume Ball – well, an invitation to watch the Costume Ball episode. Just scan the QR code.

Rainbow High vs. Shadow High. Photo courtesy of MGA Entertainment.

Demi’s focus at Shadow High is film. Her costume, a vampire, reflects her love of old black-and-white vampire movies. Even her name, Demi Batista, is a play on words that can be loosely translated to mean half-bat.

Here’s Demi unboxed in all her gothy glory.

The Costume Ball dolls are Special Editions, which means they cost the same as other Rainbow High dolls but don’t come with a second outfit! Demi does come with a stand and a comb like other Rainbow/Shadow High dolls. They’re dark purple with purple glitter. Both the stand and the comb feature the Shadow High logo. I do love the combs that come with the dolls.

Demi’s hair is jet black mixed with streaks of light and dark purple. Her hair is surprisingly free of the gel or glue that makes the hair of so many Rainbow High dolls super-crunchy and difficult to manage.

I did need to trim her bangs a little. Here she is before the trim.

Here she is after.

Demi’s long pony tails are held in place with black fabric bat-wing bows with the initials for Shadow High.

Her earrings are a nod to the Versace safety pin earrings.

Demi’s skin tone is pale, but it’s not pure white or grey like other Shadow High dolls. Her exaggerated vampire eye makeup features shades of black, white, and grey. Her long rooted upper lashes are white. Her irises feature subtle shades of purple and blue, and she has starbursts for pupils. Her eyebrows resemble microblading and feature purple shading on the inner edges. She has a light blush on her cheeks. Her lips are medium purple over salmon pink. It looks like she put one lipstick on top of another. It’s pretty.

The details on Demi’s hands are incredible. She wears two molded rings on her right hand – a large silver bat ring and a silver ring with a black painted “stone,” like an onyx. She has long fingernails, like talons, with a dark purple manicure flecked with silver.

More “onyx” rings on her left hand. I love that she’s wearing a thumb ring.

Demi wears a purple damask jumper dress over a white peasant blouse with a sweetheart neckline, full sleeves and ruffled cuffs. The dress is accentuated with a separate black belt featuring a buckle with the initials for Shadow High. The black cape and the white ruffled collar are also separates.

The cape has a metal non-working zipper with a metal zipper pull. The outside of the cape is made of cotton velvet.

The lining of the cape features a printed silver iridescent scroll-and-bat design.

Demi’s thigh-high boots are made of black vinyl. The tops of the boots are ruffled.

The trompe l’oeil zippers are printed onto the boots. I haven’t attempted to remove her boots because I’m afraid I won’t be able to get them back on.

Here’s a look at her dress and blouse once the cape and collar have been removed. She’s really sweet, actually.

When I first saw the photos of Demi online, I wasn’t sure about her. I was a little put off by her exaggerated eye makeup. But I get it, she’s dressed as a vampire and she did her eye makeup as part of her costume. Seeing her in person, I think she’s really cute. Compared to the other Costume Ball dolls, I feel that Demi was the most impressive in terms of the execution of her concept. Her outfit is amazing, and I’m impressed by the details in her clothing, her accessories, and her hands. I really like her. She would look amazing displayed with the Shadow High Storm Twins, which I have also purchased and will feature in an upcoming review.

Happy Halloween from Dollsville USA. 🎃

2 thoughts on “Shadow High Costume Ball Demi Batista

  1. Suzanne

    hi! Thanks for the great article! You are a good writer… is that what you do for your career? I always enjoy your posts. I too bought her! OMG I love her. I have bought a lot of dolls this year: 3 Blythe dolls, 3 Monster High, and many Rainbow High. I too love the Costume Ball dolls. They are absolutely magnificent and I hope to get the rest soon. I have a huge Walmart in my town which stocks these girlies and tons of other fun stuff! I am so glad they have been coming out with more Monster High. I want to get the Howliday Draculaura doll. Have you seen her? Anyways, thanks again for your complete overview of her. Hope you have a nice weekend! Suzanne

    Reply
    1. Ghouliette Post author

      Thank you Suzanne! I also love Blythe and Monster High. I have just been bitten by the Rainbow High bug and have bought quite a few recently! I have seen the Howliday Draculaura and she’s beautiful. Walmart is a great place to get these dolls!

      Reply

Leave a comment