LOL Surprise by MGA Entertainment

Image courtesy of MGA Entertainment

I was at Toys R Us today, buying some Tokidoki stuff, when I saw the LOL Surprise display at the checkout counter. I’ll admit I’m a little late to the ball regarding the LOL Surprise dolls. I’ve been seeing the displays at my local Target for several weeks now among all the other blind box displays, but the LOL Surprise display boxes were always empty. Apart from seeing the empty displays, I didn’t know anything about them, but my curiosity about these little blind boxes was further piqued one day at Target when a little girl went up to the boxes, saw they were empty, and said “Nobody has them!” So when I saw that there were a few left in the display box at Toys R Us today, I bought one – but only one, because Toys R Us limits LOL Surprises to one per customer. That’s how popular they are.

LOL Surprise promises seven layers of Surprise inside. I got a Series 2 LOL Surprise doll. The dolls come in a large plastic ball wrapped in more plastic…

…and even more plastic. So many layers of plastic. You have to unwrap each one, and are greeted with little hints and messages with each layer. Unwrapping the first layer reveals a hint as to which LOL Surprise you receive, along with layer 2.

Tea Party?

Layer 3 gives you stickers.

Layer 4:

Layer 4, opposite side. Angel and devil, get it?!

Layer 5. I see hard plastic. It finally looks like we’re getting somewhere!

After five outer layers of plastic, the ball container is finally revealed. But the unwrapping still isn’t done.

Looks like the Death Star

The top of the ball hides the first piece of the toy, which, wait for it, you also have to unwrap.

Yay!

Two more surprises in the top half of the ball, and more surprises in the bottom half.


Finally, the package containing the doll:

The LOL Surprise dolls are broken down into “clubs,” such as the Glam Club, the Hip Hop Club, and the Athletic Club. After I dressed my doll, I checked the pamphlet that came tucked inside the ball to see which one she is. She is Heartbreaker, from the Storybook Club. All the Storybook Club dolls are characters from Alice in Wonderland. Heartbreaker is the Queen of Hearts. So the “tea party” hint makes sense now.

The ball comes with a handle so after you put it back together, it becomes a convenient carrying case for your LOL Surprise doll.

Still looks like the Death Star

It also has holes at the top to accommodate the doll’s feet, so the ball is also a stand.

I’m on top of the world!

When it’s open, the ball serves as a little playpen for the doll. It has a space for her bottle, and you can turn the lid of the ball over to serve as a food tray. It even has a slice of pizza on it.

The instruction pamphlet shows how you can fill her bottle with water and then pour it into her mouth.

Then you can make her cry,

and spit out water,


and pee. (Yes, you read right).

Oops!

I didn’t put water into the doll to try it myself, so I’ll just take their word for it. The pamphlet also explains that you can dip the doll in ice water to make her hair color change. The water has to be about 32 degrees Fahrenheit for the color to change. When I dipped Heartbreaker into ice water, the white side of her hair turned red and a heart-shaped birthmark appeared over her right eye.

LOL Surprises are cute, but I bought mine more out of curiosity than with the intent to collect them. At $10.99 each, they’re a little expensive for such a tiny doll, especially when you can’t choose which one you get. But it was fun unwrapping five layers of plastic and opening five packets to reveal the Surprise. LOL Surprises are made by MGA Entertainment, the company best known for creating Bratz and Lalaloopsy dolls. Here’s a link to the official LOL Surprise page, where you can watch their commercial (I hope The Ramones don’t sue for copyright infringement 😂). LOL Surprise Lil Sister dolls are also available, featuring infant versions of the original dolls.

Have you been able to find LOL Surprise dolls? What do you think of them? Let us know.

2 thoughts on “LOL Surprise by MGA Entertainment

  1. Blackkitty

    I think they would have been more successful if the outfit and accessories weren’t matched to the doll. I imagine for people who are into them and are familiar with the list it gets boring and tedious to unwrap everything once they’ve opened the first package and knew at once which one they got.
    Yours is pretty cute though, especially with the colour change feature.

    Reply
  2. ghouliette Post author

    It was fun to open the first one but I think you are right, it might be boring to unwrap everything if you buy a lot of them. But even though I said I wasn’t going to collect them, I might have to buy a few more!

    Reply

Leave a comment