My Last Call 3-D-Printed Makies

6

A few weeks ago we reported that Makies were changing their dolls from fully 3-D-printed nylon bodies to plastic injection-molded bodies and in doing so, were offering the 3-D-printed bodies at the new reduced price of $74 until the company changed over to the IM bodies. This prompted a last-minute rush by Makies’ fans of new orders before the switch. Upon hearing the news, I ordered two Makies that have been sitting in my Makie Lab since last Christmas: Suki and Starr.

Suki

Suki

Starr

Starr

I particularly wanted to make Suki real because she is in the Ice Frosting skin tone, which was going away permanently after the switch to the IM bodies because it wasn’t a big seller (which surprises me, judging by fan pics on Facebook and Flickr). The dolls went to print quickly and in about two weeks they arrived.

Suki in the (3-D-printed) flesh

Suki in the (3-D-printed) flesh

Starr, my cocoa bean Makie

Starr, my cocoa bean Makie

I am so in love with these two. I received my first Makie, for Christmas from Ghoulia13. I wanted to make her into my mini-me, and as much as I love her, I had so much fun with Suki and Starr because they’re so very different from me and from each other. And they each have tons of personality. Here they are modeling Sparkle Girlz clothes, which fit really well on Makies and are super-cheap.

I ordered the expressive hand pack in ice frosting. The hand packs are also going away when the bodies switch to IM plastic.

I ordered the expressive hand pack in ice frosting. The hand packs are also going away when the bodies switch to IM plastic.

Starr power.

Starr power.

Starr photobombs Suki.

Starr photobombs Suki.

Of course, they are the best of friends.

15

The name of this post is actually kind of misleading, because after Suki and Starr arrived I placed a last-call-last-call Makie order, creating two more Ice Frosting girls before they go away forever. And as of this writing, the Ice Frosting skin tone option is no longer on the website. According to a company spokesperson, today is the last printing day for 3-D-printed Makies ordered last week. Since Makies go to print every Monday, next week’s printing should be for faces only, and Makies should be rolling out their new IM plastic bodies. It will be interesting to see what they look like and how they compare to the fully 3-D-printed Makies.

Are you a Makies fan? Did you place a last-minute order or two? Will you be ordering new Makies with the IM plastic bodies? Tell us what you think.

Bye now!

Bye now!

7 thoughts on “My Last Call 3-D-Printed Makies

  1. barbtheevilgenius

    Sigh. I ordered a Makie a while back, and was supposed to receive her last Friday. I heard from the company that the 3D printing of her face hadn’t gone exactly right, and they were going to have to redo her. Looking at yours makes me wish mine was here already.

    Reply
    1. ghouliette Post author

      Oh no! I’m sorry your Makie got delayed. Hopefully it will come soon. Will you post pictures? I’d love to see it.

      Reply
      1. barbtheevilgenius

        I will be sure to post pictures. I got an email today after I posted my first message, that she is on her way!

Leave a Reply

