Littlest Pet Shop Blythe Bedroom Style Set

1

I’m a sucker for bedroom playsets. There’s something about a miniature bedroom that lets the imagination run wild, creating the kind of bedroom that I myself would want to sleep in, if I could just find a shrink ray and miniaturize myself. I found the Littlest Pet Shop Blythe Bedroom Style Set at Target. I’m not crazy about the newest incarnation of LPS Blythe, but I have several of the original Blythe LPS dolls, the ones with large eyes, oversized heads, and rooted hair. They were like buying a real, albeit tiny, Blythe for only $14, and when they went on clearance I bought most of the ones I own for $10 or less at TJ Maxx and Marshalls. So I bought the Blythe Bedroom Style Set with them in mind.

2

The packaging overwhelms you with all of the awesome things you can do with the bedroom set. You can put it together and then decorate it. You can even scan the pet that comes with it to unlock a LPS app, with even more digital decorating opportunities. Unfortunately, my phone doesn’t have a scanner, so I couldn’t design my world digitally, too.

The Blythe Bedroom Style Set comes with a Blythe figurine, as well as a pet panda, Penny Ling. I use the word “figurine” because you really can’t call this Blythe a doll. She’s made of plastic and isn’t articulated except for the waist, which moves side to side. Her right arm is permanently holding a bowl of cereal (she’s in her pajamas), so she really can’t do anything else. She also can’t stand on her own, which I discovered when I tried to pose her with Penny Ling.

This is what happened when Blythe tried to stand up by herself.

This is what happened when Blythe tried to stand up by herself.

Then I discovered Blythe’s stand, which helped her stand up, but again, if she needs a stand then she’s not a doll.

That's better.

That’s better.

The Bedroom Style Set comes with a lot of stuff. A lot of stuff.

Now I know how my parents felt on Christmas Day when they had to put all of my toys together

Now I know how my parents felt on Christmas Day when they had to put all of my toys together

Stuff unpacked

Stuff unpacked

Fun sticker sheet with which to decorate Blythe's bedroom walls

Fun sticker sheet with which to decorate Blythe’s bedroom walls

Miniature flowers to stick in Blythe's windows and on the balcony

Miniature flowers to stick in Blythe’s windows and on the balcony

Bedroom background, one side

Bedroom background, one side

Bedroom background, reverse side

Bedroom background, reverse side

Fortunately, it comes with directions. I’m more of a visual learner, so I appreciate directions that are illustrated rather than text instructions.

The instructions were a snap!

The instructions were a snap!

The instructions were fairly easy to understand, so it wasn’t too difficult to assemble the bedroom. The bedroom part came together easily, but it took over an hour to put everything together, because as they say, the devil is in the details, and this set has a lot of details!

I chose the “bedroom” side of the background rather than the stage side because I wanted Blythe’s bedroom to look like a real bedroom.

11

I didn’t want to put too many stickers in it. I just added the cat sticker and some owls.

16

Next I assembled the front of the townhouse and attached it to the frame of the bedroom. The door and the gate to the balcony open and close.

12

13

Blythe on the balcony, still holding that bowl of cereal

Blythe on the balcony, still holding that bowl of cereal

The balcony front of the playset opens up to reveal the bedroom. Cute, huh?

14

I didn’t realize until after I assembled the balcony that those little plastic flowers can be used to decorate the balcony and the plants. Oh well. I’ll add them later.

After the bedroom was assembled, it was time to decorate it. The Bedroom Style Set comes with a bed, a table, a lamp, a rug, a night table, a book, a chandelier, and an iPod and iPod dock (cool!). It also comes with two plastic frames that can accommodate two of the stickers on the sticker sheet, if you want to add framed pictures to Blythe’s bedroom. The furniture was easy to assemble, once again using the instructions.

Move-in ready

Move-in ready

Now that the bedroom is ready, it’s time for Blythe and Penny Ling to move in.

19

But the Blythe figurine seemed too static, so I replaced her with one of my original Blythe LPS dolls. The original Blythe LPS moved in and promptly rearranged the furniture.

20

Penny Ling likes the butterfly chair

Penny Ling likes the butterfly chair

Blythe gets her iPod from its charging dock

Blythe gets her iPod from its charging dock

This chair is just right

This chair is just right

Blythe enjoys the view from her balcony

Blythe enjoys the view from her balcony

The Littlest Pet Shop Blythe Bedroom Style Set is really cute. It reminds me of the Miworld playsets in both size and quality. That is to say it could be sturdier, but it’s not too flimsy. I don’t think a young child would be able to put it together herself, so parental guidance would definitely be needed to assemble it. And you really can’t do much with the Blythe figure that comes with it, which is disappointing. I’m not sure I would want the other playsets, but it’s good to know that if I did, the other playsets attach to each other, just like the Miworld playsets do – although the Petacular Fun Room and the Say Ahh to the Spa sets look awfully cute too….

One thought on “Littlest Pet Shop Blythe Bedroom Style Set

  1. barbtheevilgenius

    I love bedroom sets too, and I love that bed. I have a couple of similar ones in a larger size.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

