More Fun With Fake Food!

Yup, it’s time once again for our recurring theme: Fun With Fake Food.  Because Ghouliette and I cannot stop buying dolls and playsets that come with little plastic food.  Or stoves. Or kitchens. Today’s edition of Fun With Fake Food comes to you courtesy of Mattel and Barbie.

A couple of weeks ago I was in Wal-Mart’s toy aisle and I spotted this in the sea of pink and red that is the Barbie aisle:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Barbie: Cake Baker? Oh, Mattel, you had me at Cake. The irony here is that, when I bought this, I had just put a Moxie Girlz Baker doll back on the shelf because I didn’t want to “waste money” on dolls that week. I was feeling like a responsible adult (which doesn’t happen often), and then I spied Barbie. What did I do? I grabbed the Barbie Cake Baker, of course…aaaaand…went back and picked up the Moxie Girlz Baker, too. In for a penny, in for a pound, right?

So let’s take a look. It’s not a full playset, but a doll with extras, which I love. Let’s call it a mini-playset. Barbie Cake Baker comes with a Barbie doll, an antique-inspired gas-top oven and attached counter, and a large four-tiered cake that separates into four single cakes. The cake sign attached to the oven suggests Barbie is working in a shop rather than a home kitchen. I love the little gas burners on the stovetop.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Barbie is dressed in a cute polka-dot top and pink capris, and high heels. The apron is stitched onto the capris and does not have a tie-back in the back. Barbie wears a hard plastic chef’s hat (removable) and holds a piping bag for icing cakes. You gotta hand it to Mattel on how well  they handle the details.

But there’s more–this oven set is full of surprises…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The drawer opens and closes. But that’s not all: The oven door opens and closes, too, and each time you open the oven door…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The batter in the pan goes from raw…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

…to done! The oven rack and pan flip over each time the oven door is opened. Adorable, yes?!

The cake is a really neat feature. It’s four smaller cakes and two rings of outer piping that stack on top of each other. Barbie can serve one enormous cake, or four smaller ones.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I like Barbie’s outfit in this playset. It’s adorable, and a huge step up from the outfit she wears in another kitchen playset I bought from Mattel. Remember the harsh words I had for the flimsy and unimaginative dress Barbie wears in the From Stovetop to Tabletop playset? Big improvement this time, Mattel!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m very pleased with this doll and accessories. Mainly because I can never have enough toy ovens and cakes. But everything here is bright, appealing and nicely detailed. I loved playing with this and taking pictures. I have a lot more fun planned with this set for the holidays.

Barbie Cake Baker retails at a reasonable price for a doll and accessories. I paid $19.97 at Wal-Mart.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Until next time!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

