Monster High Ghoul Chat

35

Ghoul Chat debuted this summer at San Diego Comic Con. When I saw the photos taken by fans who attended Comic Con, I knew I had to get my grubby little hands on this set. There was just something so adorably retro about it. The Ghoul Chat set consists of Catrine De Mew and Rochelle Goyle, the two Monster High exchange students from Scaris. Each is dressed in a vintage-inspired dress and comes with a ghoulishly girly telephone. Even their hairstyles seemed inspired by the Sixties. I didn’t realize then that Ghoul Chat was a K-Mart exclusive. Since there aren’t any K-Mart stores near me, I ordered online from Kmart.com. My order was processed the same day, and since their warehouse was only two states away from me, I received my order the very next day. I’m impressed!

1

Catrine and Rochelle come in their box already chatting on their telephones. The back of the box has a cute illustration of them chatting about a boy.

5

What boy are they talking about? We don’t know. It’s definitely not Garrot, Rochelle’s boyfriend, but a love interest for Catrine. Who could it be? He’s shy but sweet, so that rules out Heath! Clawd, Deuce, Gil, Invisibilly, and Manny all have girlfriends. Could it be Jackson? He has an on-again/off-again relationship with Frankie, but I think they’re officially considered a couple. Maybe a future webisode will clear this matter up – or the Freaky Fusion movie that’s coming out. Could it be Neighthan Rot?! Trailers for Freaky Fusion hint at a romance between Neighthan and a Monster High girl. Who do you think it is?

Rochelle is dressed in a short dress with a stained glass design of pastel shades of grey, mint, pink, and white. It’s meant to symbolize the stained glass in the magnificent cathedrals of Paris. The dress is topped with a black swiss-dotted bodice and short puffed sleeves. Her pink hair is streaked with mint green that matches her lipstick. I was a little disappointed in her hairstyle. In the promo photos, her hair looks like a short bouffant a la Doris Day in Pillow Talk. The actual doll has a high ponytail. She’s still cute, though.

15

Mint green shoes with a Rococo C-scroll motif complete her look. It’s obvious that mint green is a theme with Ghoul Chat Rochelle.

17

She comes with a mint green telephone, the cord of which forms a heart.

8

Catrine mirrors Rochelle, but her theme color is purple. As with Rochelle, her colors are all delicate pastels. The bodice of her dress features a ruffled bib design with a dripping design, and the skirt features a design of cat heads. At least I think it’s cat heads. It’s kind of weird and stylized and I can’t really make out what it’s supposed to be.

6

Her hair is pulled back into a low ponytail, purple, with pink streaks. Her lipstick is also pale purple.

7

Her shoes are the same color purple as her hair and phone (although it looks darker in this photo), and are in the style of booties with ankle socks.

14

Some people on Monster High forums have complained that their Ghoul Chat Catrine dolls were missing the hole in the back to insert her tail! This was the first thing I checked when I received my dolls, and I’m happy to report that my Catrine does have her tail hole. Thus, she’s able to wear her tail.

12

The Ghoul Chat set is adorable. I couldn’t wait to set them up in equally adorable retro bedrooms and make them chat with each other.

Catrine at her vanity

Catrine at her vanity

Rochelle in her walk-in closet

Rochelle in her walk-in closet

Do you have the Ghoul Chat dolls? What do you think of them?

10

4 thoughts on “Monster High Ghoul Chat

  1. barbtheevilgenius

    I’m not into Monster High, but I do like the theme of these dolls. It reminds me of the “good old” days” of my own teen years, when it was exciting to have a phone with an cord long enough that you could take it into your bedroom.

    Reply
  2. Alira

    Hi! I have them.At first,I bought them just because of Catrine,I really loved her.I was planning to sell Rochelle (I already have one)…But since Rochelle is my favourite doll…I fell in love with this Rochelle too…So I kept it ^_^ I really like them both,they’re beautiful!

    Reply
    1. ghouliette Post author

      I’m glad you decided to keep Rochelle. I can’t decide which I like better, they’re both so pretty!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

