French Kissed Tulabelle

13

French Kissed Tulabelle has finally arrived.  She is one of the four new Tulabelle releases from Integrity Toys for 2014. Of the four new dolls, French Kissed appealed to me the most because I really liked her outfit.  And she had kind of a Taylor Swift vibe with her high ponytail and bangs.

1

French Kissed Tulabelle is dressed to attend Paris Fashion Week. She wears a black blouse with a large bow at the throat, paired with a black satin bubble skirt cinched at the waist with a belt. A purple tweed short-waisted jacket completes the outfit. Purple satin heels match her jacket. She carries a black clutch purse and wears cross earrings and a matching multi-strand cross necklace. She also wears black leather fingerless gloves. She wears two pairs of tights – black fishnets over shiny nude-colored tights.

5

3

The fingerless gloves stretched over her hands with a little bit of effort, but after I took a few photos of Tulabelle wearing them I took them off and put them back in the box forever. I’m afraid that if I leave them on the doll they’ll stain her hands. Plus, I also think they’re a little too rock ‘n roll for her otherwise dressy outfit.

6

As with Pomp and Circumstance Tulabelle, I actually liked French Kissed Tulabelle a little more when I removed her jacket and paired down her outfit. She looks more refined dressed in all black, and the silver jewelry looks more striking when its not competing for attention with the purple tweed jacket, though I think the earrings and the necklace threaten to overpower the outfit, as was also the case with Pomp and Circumstance Tulabelle.

15

10

As with my other Tulabelles, I had a bit of trouble putting the earrings in French Kissed Tulabelle’s ears. Integrity just doesn’t make the holes in her ear big enough, and, as with J’Adore Tulabelle, I sort of broke the earring. One of the crosses came off of the stud as I was forcing the post into the tiny ear hole. I had to take a pair of needle-nosed pliers and close off the jump-ring on the stud after I placed the cross back on it. It looks good as new, though. Can you tell I broke it?

7

Besides the earrings, I had a couple of other issues with French Kissed that I didn’t have with my other Tulabelles. I had a little trouble getting the shoes on. Tulabelle has jointed toes so she can wear flats or heels. But I couldn’t really bend the toes enough to arch her foot to fit in the heels. I think it might be the fact that she’s wearing two pairs of tights. It felt harder to move the toes. As a result, her shoes don’t fit quite right, especially on her right foot.

14

Another issue I had was with her bangs. They are choppy, and when the doll first arrived part of her bangs were sticking straight up. I had to continually smooth them down until they stayed down. It looks better, but it doesn’t look as good as the prototype in the promo photos.

Photo courtesy of Integrity Toys

Photo courtesy of Integrity Toys

12

But I do really like her platinum blonde hair and her high ponytail.

18

French Kissed Tulabelle is my fourth Tulabelle, and the only one from the 2014 collection that appealed to me. When I was photographing her, I couldn’t help but think that I wasn’t “feeling it” like I did when I photographed my other Tulabelles, and I’m not exactly sure why. Two of my three Tulabelles from 2013 are basic editions (none of the 2014 Tulabelles are), and I think maybe I prefer Tulabelle when she’s simpler. I really liked Pomp and Circumstance Tulabelle better when I removed her extra jewelry and accessories and put her in flats. Perhaps French Kissed is a bit overdressed? Maybe I like her better casual than dressy? I don’t know. I just didn’t feel the same excitement, or that sense of really falling in love with a doll, that I did when I photographed Pomp and Circumstance and J’Adore. Maybe the new line just doesn’t measure up to the debut collection. Do you collect Tulabelle? What do you think?

22

2 thoughts on “French Kissed Tulabelle

  1. CrankySarah

    Aaaaaaaah, so jealous! Mine is still in transit. She’s super pretty. What do you think of her face-up compared to J’Adore? How similar are they? For the ear holes, I recommend using a t-pin (or other heavy pointy pin, I have t-pins around because I use them for blocking and I like the leverage I get on them,) and opening up the holes before putting in the earrings. I did terrible, terrible things to a couple of pairs of earrings before I worked this out

    Reply
    1. ghouliette Post author

      I think I prefer J’adore’s face-up to French Kissed . I haven’t put them side by side but as I was photographing FK it occurred to me that the face seemed a bit different to the three I have from last year’s collection – maybe a bit more sultry and less innocent. I have a few T pins I use for blocking too, thanks for the tip . I hope your FK comes soon. I ‘d love to know what you think of it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

