I Love Fashion Wydowna Spider

27

Wydowna Spider made her debut last year at the 2013 San Diego Comic Con. Like the SDCC 2011 Ghoulia Yelps, she was dressed in superhero garb. Her superhero name was Webarella, a take on the camp ’60s movie Barbarella. And like Scarah Screams, the 2012 SDCC doll, last year’s SDCC Monster High doll is this year’s I Love Fashion doll.

1

The I Love Fashion line is exclusive to Toys R Us. Wydowna comes with three outfits, a stand, and a hairbrush. She doesn’t come with a diary, but there is a brief bio on the back of the box. Unfortunately, it doesn’t tell us much, except that she likes to go to the maul and is really into fashion.

2

I would have liked to learn more about Wydowna, such as her age, who her best friend is, etc. Here she is out of the box but still secured into the backing.

3

The I Love Fashion Wydowna Spider carries over the comic book theme of Wydowna’s San Diego Comic Con doll. Each of her three outfits feature comic book graphics. Wydowna comes dressed in a sleeveless shirt dress with a comic book print, accentuated with a wide super-hero-style belt, silver knee boots, a low-slung belt around her waist, and a messenger bag with a comic graphic on it.

24

Her silver knee boots have spurs shaped like spider webs that really spin.

I got spurs that jingle jangle jingle

I got spurs that jingle jangle jingle

Wydown’s second outfit is my favorite of the three. It features a long t-shirt with the word “SPLAT” in comic-book font, paired with a striped miniskirt. The sleeves of the t-shirt are wide dolman sleeves, so all three of her arms on each side can fit through it.

Oh what a tangled web I weave

Oh what a tangled web I weave

She wears white boots with a comic-book dot print that matches her messenger bag.

14

These boots are made from the same mold as First Wave Ghoulia’s tall lace-up sneakers.

7

Wydowna’s messenger bag opens and closes.

15

16

The third outfit is a yellow top that is off-the-shoulder on one side. It’s paired with comic-print leggings, yellow shoes with a spider-web motif, and a blue necklace.

19

21

20

Even her earrings are shaped like spider webs.

18

Wydowna is unique in that she has four additional arms, bringing the total number of arms and legs to eight, since she’s a spider. Here’s what her body looks like with the extra arms, from the back.

100_5070

As I mentioned earlier, I was disappointed by the lack of information on Wydowna. I feel like I don’t really know who she is. Who is her best friend? I like to imagine that it’s Ghoulia. They seem to share a love of comic books. I think Wydowna would make a much better BFF for Ghoulia than Cleo. Cleo seems to use Ghoulia as her lackey, or to cheat off of her in class. I like to think that Ghoulia and Wydowna would both be in Monster High’s comic book club, and would go to Comic Con together in their matching shoes and offbeat messenger bags.

9

Maybe Wydowna needs glasses too.

11

I wasn’t crazy about the SDCC Wydowna doll, so I wasn’t sure I’d like the I Love Fashion version. But I liked the fashions that came with the I Love Fashion Wydowna, and after taking her out of the box and dressing her in her cool, comic-book-inspired fashions, I have to say she’s growing on me. Not like Jane Boolittle, but that’s another story.

Do you have Wydowna Spider? What do you think of her?

I can't decide what to wear today

I can’t decide what to wear today

2 thoughts on “I Love Fashion Wydowna Spider

Leave a Reply

