Ever After High: Raven Queen Getting Fairest and Destiny Vanity

Ghoulia13 here, with a post that I’ve been meaning to write for ages. As you can tell by the state of things around here, Ghouliette and I have been collecting a lot of Ever After High stuff lately. We didn’t anticipate falling so hard for this line of dolls and playsets; Monster High took up enough of our time and money. But what can we say? The endearing characters, sweet stories, and, of course, killer shoes eventually won us over. As we both eagerly wait for the EAH Hat-tastic Tea Party playset to arrive in the mail, we’ve been searching out Series 1 dolls that are still plentiful, as well as some of the new dolls and new storyline merchandise.

Once upon a time, the Getting Fairest dolls and bedroom playsets was the newest line. Released in late 2013, it depicts the girls as they are getting ready for the True Hearts Dance being thrown by C.A. Cupid. Each doll is dressed in a cute nightgown and robe (<em>very</em> short, of course), and comes with a small nightstand with accessories on it. Playsets include Apple White’s Fainting Couch and Raven Queen’s Destiny Vanity. I purchased Raven Queen Getting Fairest in February, and the Destiny Vanity in March. So without further ado, I’m finally getting around to reviewing EAH Getting Fairest.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Each doll comes with a character-specific variation on the same outfit. Raven remains true to her classic purple, black and silver colorway. Her nightgown is a one-piece frilly skirt and a tee shirt with black and white birds on it. That’s so Raven! (Sorry-I couldn’t resist.)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Her purple robe has black lace trim on the sleeves. She wears black high-heeled slippers and a pair of headphones attached to the fairy-tale version of an iPod. Her nightstand comes with three accessories. From top to bottom, they are a handheld mirror, a headpiece and a collar.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I really like the headphones, but my one quibble with them is they are impossible to remove from Raven’s head without messing up her hair:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The headphones are sandwiched between two strand of hair pulled back with teeny tiny black elastics. I know for a fact that if I were to undo those elastics, I would never get them back the way they were.  I thought perhaps the headphones can be removed by detaching and reattaching the earpieces,  but tugging on them did nothing, and I didn’t want to break anything. So I guess removing them isn’t an option unless you want to rearrange her hair. Maybe I’ll just take the headphones off at some point and just let Raven’s hair flow! We’ll see how I feel about it… 🙂

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I think it’s nice that the doll comes with some accessories to play with. It’s a nice set, but the fun really doesn’t start until you get the related playset. So of course I eventually caved and bought Raven’s Destiny Vanity…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m really glad I did. I love the glamorous side of dollplay, so things like beauty sets and vanity sets make me really happy. Mixing goth with glamor, Raven’s Destiny Vanity is a unique and enjoyable toy…especially if you like purple.

Raven Queen is getting ready for the True Hearts’ Day dance, and she’s been texting C.A. Cupid all day asking for advice on what to wear. Cupid basically tells her to follow her heart. How do I know this? It’s on the back of the box!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There’s a lot of nicely detailed work on the vanity. There are lots of fun little accessories that every girl needs, such as perfume bottles, a fancy box with more perfume bottles in it (or are they magic potions?), a hair brush, and two tabletop speakers–for the iPod, natch.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There is also a wig stand with an elaborate crown and a necklace on it. Raven has everything she needs to get all dolled up for the dance.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Mattel did a nice job with the texture; look closely and you can see the wood grain pattern on both the light and dark purple areas.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The chair also has nice detailing, from the embroidered seat cushion to the feathered chair back.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Raven loves music, and her vanity holds a secret:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The drawer in front opens to reveal a secret keyboard. Not only that, but Raven”s hairbrush doubles as a microphone. So Raven can rock out when no one’s around.

I had a lot of fun with this vanity, and as you can see, so did Raven. She’s ready for a night at the dance. Maybe she’ll find her own Prince Charming. Question is, which one will it be, Daring or Dexter?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Any Ever After High fans out there? What do you think of the Getting Fairest line? What did you think of the True Hearts Day episode? Let’s discuss in the comments!

 

3 thoughts on “Ever After High: Raven Queen Getting Fairest and Destiny Vanity

  1. barbtheevilgenius

    I am planning on getting an EAH doll or two at some point, although I don’t have any yet. Mattel did a nice job on this vanity, but with its super-Gothic look, it almost seems as though it could fit into the Monster High line. So it wasn’t for me. It does suit Raven’s personality, however.

    Reply
    1. ghoulia13 Post author

      So you’re more of a Royal Gal than a Rebel Gal! lol I think Mattel has done a great job with all the EAH details.

      Reply
      1. barbtheevilgenius

        I didn’t think about it that way! I think if I was going to be a Rebel, I would still be a very girly rebel. 🙂

Leave a Reply

