Moxie Girlz Raincoat Color Splash Bryten

1

Last week I was appalled when I saw the Moxie Girlz Poopsy Pets dolls at Target. This week I was much more pleasantly surprised to discover the Moxie Girlz Raincoat Color Splash dolls. Like the Poopsy Pets, the Raincoat Color Splash line consists of three dolls. Each wears a raincoat and rainboots, and comes with an umbrella. The raincoat is what reeled me in. I love dolly raincoats and slickers. I don’t know why. And maybe, in the midst of this bitter cold and snowy winter, the promise of springtime and the April showers that go along with it compelled me to buy one. I chose Bryten. I thought her striped raincoat was adorable.

Raincoat Color Splash Bryten

Raincoat Color Splash Bryten


7

But the Raincoat Color Splash dolls aren’t just about looking pretty in the rain. Each doll also comes with a pen, so you can draw on the raincoat. You can then wash off the ink and draw on the coat again.

Each Raincoat Color Splash doll comes with an umbrella and a pen

Each Raincoat Color Splash doll comes with an umbrella and a pen

I was reluctant at first to draw on the coat. What if the ink wouldn’t come off? But these dolls were meant for playing with, and that includes drawing on their coats. So I went ahead and drew on it anyway. It turns out I needn’t worry about the ink not coming off because it hardly goes on. When I drew on the vinyl coat with the pen, the ink beaded up, like felt tip pens do when you draw on a slick surface. My drawings didn’t look as nice as the ones on the back of the box, that’s for sure. But the ink did wash off easily with a damp paper towel.

The detail on the back of the box shows how much fun you can have drawing on the back of the raincoat

The detail on the back of the box shows how much fun you can have drawing on the back of the raincoat

A blank canvas ready for my masterpiece

A blank canvas ready for my masterpiece

My efforts were not nearly as successful

My efforts were not nearly as successful

If I were a child I might be disappointed in the fact that drawing on the raincoat with the included pen wasn’t as successful as shown on the back of the box. After all, this is the main selling point with this line of dolls. I was also a little disappointed in the lack of articulation on the Moxie Girlz. This was my first Moxie Girlz purchase, so I didn’t realize that their legs don’t bend. Neither do their arms, but many fashion dolls have non-articulated arms. This lack of articulation inhibits posing (for adults), and play (for children). Despite the lack of articulation and the disappointing drawing experience, I nonetheless find the Moxie Girlz adorable. Their faces are pretty, and very sweet. I think Moxie Girlz are extremely appropriate for little girls – in contrast to MGA’s other successful line, Bratz, which has been criticized by many parents as being too sexy in the way they look and dress for little girls to play with. If I had children I would feel comfortable letting them play with Moxie Girlz. Heck, I’d probably let them play with Bratz too.

There were a few things I noticed in the photograph on the back of the box that were different compared to the actual doll. The prototypes on the back of the box had different outfits than the actual doll. The prototype of Bryten shows her wearing a pale blue top and a white skirt with flowers on it. The actual doll comes in a one-piece flared dress with an abstract floral design. And the umbrella on the back of the box is made out of fabric, whereas the one that came with the doll is plastic. The prototype doll’s hair looks longer than the actual doll’s hair, and is styled around the face in small twists. Small potatoes, I know, but I just thought I’d mention it.

Prototype Bryten wears a blue top and a floral skirt

Prototype Bryten wears a blue top and a floral skirt

Actual Bryten wears a one-piece dress with a blue floral pattern

Actual Bryten wears a one-piece dress with a blue floral pattern

Overall, I don’t know if I would buy another Moxie Girlz doll for myself because of the lack of articulation. But I would not hesitate to buy or recommend one for a child. I think they can stimulate imaginative play, and they are awfully pretty. Who could resist this face?

10

Leave a Reply

