Blast from the Past: 1 Modern Circle Melody

4d7866f2740ac215c2b1cd60ae508590

Happy New Year! Ghouliette here. I hope everyone had a very happy holiday season. I’ve been a bit remiss in my blogging duties of late (too busy playing with the dollies I got for Christmas), but I hope to rectify that today.  This past weekend I took out my Ikea Huset playset and had some fun. Since Ghoulia13 already reviewed it, I won’t go into details about it. but needless to say, I really wanted this playset. I bought two of them because I wanted a second Expedit bookcase. I added two end tables and lamps from the Barbie Loves Jonathan Adler doll, and a screen that I bought on eBay that was originally part of the Barbie Fashion Fever Velvet Crush furniture set, along with various odds and ends, mostly from Rement, and my doll apartment is complete. I like to imagine it’s a stylish little studio in Williamsburg, Brooklyn (because Brooklyn is hip these days, isn’t it?). Now for the doll.

The 1 Modern Circle gang

The 1 Modern Circle gang. Image courtesy of Mattel.

Out of all my dolls, I asked myself, which one looks most like she would live in a funky studio apartment in Williamsburg? The answer was obvious: 1 Modern Circle Melody. The 1 Modern Circle dolls were released in 2003. The set was comprised of four dolls, each one using a vintage face mold. But don’t let the vintage faces fool you. The 1 Modern Circle gang are the epitome of 21st century cosmopolitan hipsters. They all work for the Modern Circle Production Company. What do they produce, you ask? I’m not sure, it’s kind of vague. Commercials? Infomercials? Talk shows? For some reason I like to imagine that they produce soap operas. Barbie is the producer, and her face uses the original vintage Barbie face. Ken is the designer, and he features the original vintage Ken face sculpt. Simone is the makeup artist, and underneath her totally rad dreads you’ll find a vintage face mold (Mattel doesn’t mention which one, but it looks to me like the 1970s Barbie before they switched to the Superstar Barbie, perhaps the Malibu Barbie face? What do you think?). And then there’s Melody.

Melody is the production assistant for Modern Circle Productions. According to Mattel, Melody is “the most carefree and energetic spirit of the group, and her style is in step with what’s cool for work and play.” Her face uses the Twist ‘n Turn Barbie face mold (some online doll collectors report that Melody uses the Steffie face mold, but the official Mattel listing for this doll says it’s the Twist ‘n Turn Barbie face, and it seems the 1 Modern Circle girls all use a Barbie face mold of one type or another). Melody has freckles, and a cute little blue flip. She comes with a handbag and a cup of coffee – to go – because she’s got a very hectic schedule. She looks like she’s got to hop on the L train to get to her office in downtown Manhattan (I’m guessing. The 1 Modern Circle gang just look like the downtown types).

So with the Huset furniture set I imagined a typical evening at home for Melody. What do your dolls do when they’re at home?

Honey, I’m home. Oh, right, I live alone.

Melody relaxes with a magazine.

Melody relaxes with a magazine.

Even at home, Melody finds she's got to do some work.

Even at home, Melody finds she’s got to do some work.

Melody realizes her apartment could use some cleaning.

Melody realizes her apartment could use some cleaning.

Vacuuming is a chore, but somebody's gotta do it.

Vacuuming is a chore, but somebody’s gotta do it.

Now for some music.

Now for some music.

Vinyl is old school, and the hipsters dig it.

Vinyl is old school, and the hipsters dig it.

Now to put the headphones on and chill. That's right, I said "chill."

Now to put the headphones on and chill. That’s right, I said “chill.”

Chillin'

Chillin’

Leave a Reply

